Strange how songs can be powerful in stirring up tender memories. This morning I heard for the first time in ages Rod Stewart sweetly singing “Have I Told You”, an original Van Morrison remake. I don’t necessarily have warmhearted memories for that exact song, but rather a very old tune “Have I Told You Lately That I Love You”. The message in both songs are the same, but the lyrics and melodies are different. Musical idols of  past eras such as Ricky Nelson, Bing Crosby, Elvis Presley and a few others from the 1940’s-1950’s (yes, I am totally going way back!) all had renditions of this old classic which is what sparks me to return to a moment in my past. Decades ago while rummaging through my mother’s personal treasures after she passed away, I stumbled upon a dear and delicate love letter that my father had written to her while she was away at college. Simply stated he had stated, “There they go again playing our song on the radio….”Have I Told You Lately That I Love You.” Each time I return to thoughts of that letter, I am reminded of my parents endearing love with just a few tender words and a touching tune. I have often wondered…..……..Perhaps this was the first dance at their wedding?  I’ll always wonder.  An uncanny coincidence while performing a difficult task lead me to “their song.” As I reminisce now, I regret that I never did share with my father the secret that I had unveiled years ago……sentimental feelings for the love of his life and affirmation of a love so true. I wish I had.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Oh, Mary, this is such a sweet Slice. I love everything about it. I love how you referred to the letter as “dear and delicate”, and I love how the song brought you back to that moment. Your ending was so bittersweet and reminds me that we never know when we won’t have the chance to ask anymore. Great, great read.

    Like

  2. Wow Mary-what a piece! Your use of the word tender at the beginning sets the stage for the slice. Funny how just a song can bring such memories to the forefront. I envisioned you sitting on the floor reading the letter.
    How sweet that was, but the piece took another turn – your disappointment in never sharing your secret with your dad. Some day Mary, you will be able to share it with both your mom and dad at the same time.
    Wonderful slice! Thanks for sharing such intimate memories and feelings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

