Cat In The Hat.  Fox In Socks. Hop and Pop. Green Eggs and Ham.  Oh The Places You’ll Go.  Culminating activities celebrating the life of Dr. Seuss took place today in our school.  Each morning this week, a small excerpt from one of his many books was read aloud to our students.  Hearing the verses of Dr. Seuss always brings a smile to my face.  As a child, I was not permitted to read anything authored by Dr. Seuss.  It was frowned upon at school, and this being eons ago, whatever the school said, my parents followed suit.  Of course I knew of his books because of my friends who attended the “public” schools.  I don’t think this was a “Catholic” issue but more the fact the nuns just didn’t think it was enriching literature.  I ask myself now how the “rigorous and engaging” text…..See Jane.  See Jane go.  Go Jane go!….was considered ok for instruction yet the colorful rhymes of Dr. Seuss were not appropriate for enjoyment.  I did read all the Dr. Seuss books to my children when they were young, and the clever author’s works were definitely a favorite in our home library.  And if I am blessed with grandkids one day up ahead, Dr. Seuss’s collections will surely be read!

2 thoughts on “

  1. What? I’ve never heard of anyone who didn’t love Dr. Seuss! I had no idea that he was banned from some schools! Loved your point about ole Dick and Jane. Borrrrriiinnng.

    My girls and I love Dr. Seuss. So many good nights of us gathered around his books, laughing and rhyming. 🙂

    By the way, loved your opening lines, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

